45,000 Kinds of Wrong

A quote from Christopher McDougall. Since I’m at home it just made sense to try the 100 ups. It keeps me away from the kettle bell, at least. I did 100 of the minor. Sure I wanted to the major, after all I’m a runner, am I not. But I thought I’d better get it right. Not so easy. It seems like it’s going to be easy, but after about 70 you start to feel the resistance in those stabilizer muscles, just above the hips. It’s that knee lift. It becomes work.

Here’s McDougall’s spiel about the 100 up, to a small group at the New York Times. It’s verbatim from the video:

When you watch the New York City Marathon this weekend as you know there’s going to be a small group of elites doing everything right and then 45,000 varieties of wrong. These guys aren’t just faster than us, they’re lighter, they’re smoother, they’re gentler. So the question is how is it those of us in the back of the pack can learn to run like those in the front of the pack? Well back in 1874 this genius named Walter George developed this foolproof technique to learn the one best way to run perfectly. He was a chemist’s apprentice. He had to work inside 14 hours a day so he couldn’t run as much as other people, so he learned how to run better…

Interesting. Quite a bunch of statements, especially that part about the “one best way” always a red flag, in my opinion. But I’m going to try and stick with it. I’ll stick with the minor for now. And next time I won’t wear my jeans. Feeling that strain in the stabilizers somehow seems like the right track. Just intuitively, getting the knees up, that’s got to be right. I’ve noticed a certain shuffling tendency in my stride recently. Getting the knees up is going to get you more power. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

