Remarkably Aerobic

I won’t be running in the park today, but I will be running around town — in the errands sense. Still, I just did my 100 ups (minor) and continue to be surprised at how aerobic they are. I mean, wow. Perhaps I need to slow down? Yesterday I managed to dig up my (coffee damaged) anatomy book, Running Anatomy by Joe Puleo and Dr. Patrick Milroy, for the express purpose of naming the muscle above the hip that takes on some of the load during the 100 ups.

It turns out, so far as I can make out, that it’s the Tensor Fasciae Latae. This makes sense, as it’s function is assisting the glutes with raising and stabilizing the knee. The wiki quote:

the oblique direction of its fibers enables it to stabilizes the knee in extension (Assist Gluteus Maximus in knee extension).

Honestly, I don’t think I would have guessed the glutes are implicated in knee raises, but this also explains my sense that the glutes were firing more or my awareness of said action increased during my post-100 ups run on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

