The Race That Never Was

 

 

 

Saturday ran some very uncustomary intervals. I’m still feeling it. I’m not really used to running in groups. It stirred up the competitive spirit, and I may have overdone it. Let’s just call it the race I never had this year. Today about a mile into my run I had some pretty acute discomfort in the left hamstring.

If ever there was a moment to become very attentive to sensations this was it. Had it moved an iota into the pain zone (and it was very close), I might have abandoned the run. As it was, the discomfort subsided, though I was conscious of some occasional stiffness. Hopefully I didn’t mess things up…

43:20        5.04 miles        8:31 min/mile

Today the foam roller will be my friend.

Leave a Reply

