Weekend Reading

Over the weekend I inhaled Scott Jurek’s Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Marathon GreatnessRecommended. It inspired me to run. It inspired me to temper my diet toward a more plant-based one. I have to admire the guy’s guts. How many races did he run with some part of his body that was broken? I kept thinking, oh, he’s not going to finish this one. But he finishes and he wins. Amazing. Sure the book kind of just stops and it has a funny format, but you get a real sense of what drives Jurek in this book. Exemplifying that spirit:

Running wasn’t just exercise or a hobby, or even necessarily competition, for them. Basically, they were existentialists in shorts. I wanted to be one, too.

Best (narrative) running book I’ve read since Born to Run.

Leave a Reply

