Fragment #1

Cause I always forget to write stuff down.

Runner (not me) has just run a pretty hard quarter mile and is making some pretty sorrowful, low, moaning noises, trying to spit something up, but comes up with nothing. He gave it his all. In fact, I’m somewhat alarmed by his effort. I know he has pushed the pain threshold, pretty hard, and that by comparison I let myself off the hook.

“He ran that really hard.” I say (I ran it with him, behind.)

“He’s just processing. He knows he can run it in 60 seconds, but he’s got to do more processing,” replies coach. And I think he’s right.

Leave a Reply

