A Motivational App to Incorporate Strength Work

20130425-141711.jpg

Funny going from the phone to the desktop — never *quite* sure what things are going to look like. These massive images are from my Lift app, a social motivational app used for tracking habits, etc. I’ve found it to be quite helpful in tracking my non-running strength or core work. And now that I’m convinced strength work is essential to preventing injury and strengthening running overall, I’m pursuing it.

I’m happy to note that I’ve been doing a fair amount of strength work with some success, and I believe using the app has helped a great deal.

When I started I was doing 5 pushups, now I’m doing 30.

From the photo above, you can see that today I did (marching) bridges, lateral leg raises, clamshells, modified bicycles, planks (prone, supine and sides), and pushups.

(I haven’t been tracking the Lunge Matrix, but I’ve also been doing that before my last 5 or so solo runs. My meditation has been lagging a bit lately.)

Very handy (and motivating!) to see the data, for instance, that I’ve done planks 53 times since January 20, and that right around the time of my trip to Santa Fe my habit flagged. I also notice that my meditation habit was just devastated by my race in February. So on top of being motivated, you might even learn something about your habits. Pretty cool. This app is essential for me, now.

Most of my exercises I got from Jason Fitzgerald at Strength Running, specifically from this particular video. (I added on pushups and clamshells and lateral leg lifts.) If you don’t know his site, you should really check it out. He has tons of information, check out his free pdf “52 workouts”, for instance.

As I’m gradually embarking on a more steady work schedule, it will be interesting and challenging to see what other patterns emerge.

 

20130425-141723.jpg

Leave a Reply

